A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

Inspired.

Yesterday my daughter and I watched our friend turn into an Ironman.

Training for and completing the Ironman competition is no simple feat in itself. It is a 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike ride, with a 26.2 mile marathon chaser. Truthfully you had me at entering a lake with nearly 3000 other people. Yikes!

Ironman-Swim-Start1

Every one of those athletes impressed me yesterday, but what really inspired me is that our friend did all of this with Type 1 Diabetes.

No big deal you may think. Well, it is time to think about it. She pushed herself through those 140.6 miles from sun up to sundown, with a fantastic time might I add, while having to also act as her own pancreas. (We were exhausted just cheering and checking online updates!) While she pushed her body, she had to manually keep track of her blood sugar which I am sure was always on the brink of dropping too low or maybe too high from overtreatment. I was not there with her, nor do I have any idea as to what her plan was, but I know she had one. I know she probably ate high sugar snacks during the day even though she probably could no longer stand the taste of them because she had to. Not only to compete, but also simply to live. She probably felt awful at times and wondered, is it because of her blood sugar or because she was just exhausted? She probably had to wake herself up a couple of times during the night to test her blood sugar to make sure she wasn’t  dropping too low. I know I worried about her several times!

She did all of this with a smile on her face.

Watching her cross the finish line was amazing, but our highlight was earlier in the day. We were cheering her on during the bike ride and she cheered back to my daughter, her Type 1 buddy. She took that moment to remind my little girl that she too can do anything. Wow.

My little girl was forever changed yesterday and for that we thank you. Thank you for being such an inspiration. And congratulations on an amazing achievement!

Leave a Reply

