A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

The Party’s Over…

Okay, I know we are technically in the middle of Summer, but as far as I am concerned the party is over. School supplies are overflowing in the stores, Christmas decorations are for sale at the craft stores and here is the big sign, (gasp!) I am getting sick of my garden.

Not sick of gardening, but sick of this year’s garden. A couple of weeks ago I was deadheading 300+ daylily flowers a night. Now, I have maybe 20 or 30 blooms a day. I am not sure because I don’t bother to deadhead anymore.

I have begun to plan for next summer. Plants this time of year get ripped out left and right. Some plants get moved, many more composted. I have 70 more daylily seedlings waiting to be planted in my garden, and I need spots for them.

In the past years I have been a bit sentimental about my plants, especially the seedlings. But I have grown close to 500 daylily seedlings over the past few years and I can’t possibly keep them all. This year I looked at each one (both flower beauty and plant habit) and said to myself, would I buy this daylily? If no, I dug it out right then and there. If the answer was yes, I asked myself if there was one in the garden that was similar but better, if that was true, out it went.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was so freeing, much like cleaning out a closet. I have gotten almost all those plants that don’t thrill me 100 percent, regardless if I have grown or purchased it. It really isn’t worth the irritation to keep a plant I am not crazy for simply because I bought it on a whim in 2005.

It is still summer, but as far as I am concerned, the excitement of this year’s garden is over. It was a successful year, but now I am looking to the next growing season. Scraggly annuals, its time you shape up or you’re next!

Leave a Reply

