A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

Seven Years.

Seven years ago today I started a new career. I was completely unqualified, and did not have a realistic understanding of the duties or the hours. Nevertheless, with the help of my wonderful husband and family, I reported for duty a few minutes after 2 a.m. on August 6, 2004.

I made many rookie errors the first few months, but settled in nicely with my new employer. She required a lot of attention, but seemed to forgive the many mistakes I made as I stumbled along. Almost two years into my employment we brought in a second boss, a young man who was every bit as pleasant as m first. 

These past seven years have had many ups and just a very few downs. There was some lost sleep, some crying over spilled milk, and a lot of crap, but mostly we have had many fun times, all of us learning so much as we went along.

Our relationship has grown so much, the time we spend together simply priceless. The demands have decreased and the fun has increased. This is the first job I have ever had that I did not want to quit within two years of starting. I LOVE this job.

Starting September 1st, my employers will be out of the office Monday through Friday. Many have asked what I will do with all that time once they are gone. There is still quite a bit of support work to be done, even if they are out of the office. I don’t plan to switch careers quite yet.

I hope that my employers have enjoyed our time together these past years as much as I have. I sure appreciate the opportunity you have given me.

Happy 7th Birthday Pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

