A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

The House on the Rock

Last week my husband’s brother, wife and daughter visited from North Carolina. We live in Wisconsin, and my husband and his brothers grew up in a small town in beautiful Southwest Wisconsin. His brother’s wife is from North Carolina, and when she visits she is often only exposed to that corner of the state.

Now if you have never been to Wisconsin (or even if you have!), you might be inclined to think that we have nothing but cows, cheese and beer. I have a feeling my brother-in-law’s family feels the same way. But we have more, and we shared it with them last week – we have the House on the Rock.

When I was a kid, I remember my grandparents (dad’s parents) talking about the trip they were taking to the House on the Rock. I remember not understanding what they were talking about, not being able to picture what it was exactly they were going to see. Well, after three trips there as an adult, I am still not sure what it is I have seen.

How I felt much of my time in the House on the Rock.

The House on the Rock is a fascinating destination that is well worth the visit. In fact, it is reported a half a million people visit this attraction every year.

I don’t know how to describe the House on the Rock. It started as a weekend home built by a gentleman named Alex Jordan. He built the original house on a rock column that is approximately 60 feet tall in the hills of Spring Green, Wisconsin. According to the House on the Rock history, he never intended the home to become a tourist attraction, but so many people came to see the “architectural wonder” that he began to charge 50 cents a visitor.

Alex collected stuff, massive amounts of stuff, and in my opinion some weird stuff. Now the House on the Rock is an attraction that contains 16 buildings (yes buildings) to display all of it.

A couple of the hundreds (thousands?) of dolls in the collection.

I am not sure how to sum up the house in a literal sense. It is like nothing you could imagine, no matter how much I try to describe it to you. It is much like the first time you see the Grand Canyon. Sure you heard it was big, but no one is able to explain the majesty of that canyon. The House on the Rock is much the same way, except instead of the majesty of the canyon, it is awe and bewilderment wrapped up in an eerie sandwich. Our kids loved it, the adults loved it, but none of us could really explain why.

Did our North Carolina guests like the house? Absolutely! Would I recommend you visit to the House on the Rock? Definitely, it is one of those things you should put on your list of “must sees.” Would I spend the night alone in there? Not a chance.

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse

The next time you get to Southern Wisconsin, take a day to check out the House on the Rock. It’s a visit you will never forget.

A chandelier in the organ room.`

A carving made out of ivory.

The World's largest carousel.

Leave a Reply

