A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

What’s In a Name?

So yesterday I came down with the dreaded Summer cold. There is something so depressing about having a cold during beautiful weather. We just came off of a great week with family (more about that in a future blog), and thankfully everyone felt good until they headed for home! I felt so crummy yesterday though, that I didn’t want to get off the couch, not even to see which new daylilies may have bloomed.

I napped a good portion of the morning, and then as boredom set in, I decided I needed to do something besides watch TV or play a game online. I decided to try the Ancestry.com free 14 day trial, and see what I could come up with for a genealogy search.

Well, if you have never done this before, it is quite fascinating! I started with a history that my Grandpa had put together a few years ago, and the rest was from memory. On both my husband’s and my side I have researched back to Germany, Poland, Belgium and Norway. I forced myself to set the laptop aside at about 10 last night, and I have barely scratched the surface!

Ok, so I went to Ancestry.com about an hour ago and got sucked in again. I simply went there to catch a fun screen shot…Oh yeah, so anyway here is one for you.

Lots and lots of people I don't know.

 

 This is very fun and I highly recommend it, however be aware of a few things:

  • This is the biggest time-eater I have come across yet on the internet.
  • There is A LOT of information out there, and much of it appears to be incorrect. Dates, spellings, locations, etc. are often different, and really who am I to know which one is correct?
  • There are a lot of people with the same name. You really have to study to make sure you are  not attaching the wrong person to your family tree.

If you too decide to take this journey, I hope you enjoy it as much as I am!

Comments on: "What’s In a Name?" (2)

  1. my granddad is doing this at the mo, very interesting

    Like

Leave a Reply

