A Blend of Life, Family, Awareness & Tales

Golfing for a Cure!

Yesterday my little girl and I participated in our local Friends of JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation) golf outing. It was a fabulous benefit, largely due to my husband’s passion and event planning skills. Of course there were others involved with the planning, but I am so very proud of him and all that he did.

We started with a great lunch, followed by approximately 150 golfers hitting the course. Ominous weather was predicted for several days, but as the golfers arrived the clouds slowly drifted away, and by afternoon the sun was shining. We ended off the day with hors d’oeuvres, prizes for the golfers and a fantastic turnout for both the silent and live auctions.

My daughter and I, as well as another “Child with Type 1” and his mother, sold raffle tickets raising additional money. My little girl and I also spent a lot of time at hole number six, rolling dice (ok, I know the proper word is “die,” singular of dice, but it just feels weird saying that) with each foursome, to see where they could tee off, some cutting off as much as 250 yards with the roll of a three! The highlight for both my daughter and I though, had to be our golf cart that was just for us for the entire day!

Hole #6, not just for golfing anymore. Also cartwheels!

We really enjoyed visiting with each and every golfer, so many nice people there for the same cause. Many great stories, a few old friends and even more new ones.

A lot of money was raised and given to the JDRF, thanks to the many generous souls who donated their time, money or talent yesterday. Thank you everyone for your support, and most of all, Thank You Wonderful Husband for all you did to make yesterday such a success!

Comments on: "Golfing for a Cure!" (2)

  1. This event will help our daughter and so many others. I will not stop until a cure is found! I love you, Nat and Nick so much. Thanks for your work as well. Love. Archie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

